Special K Challenge: Get lost (via I came to run)

10 Jan

Rant alert: It’s just my personal opinion, but The Special K Challenge is something the world doesn’t need. But hey, that’s why we have marketing and advertising, so women are gently reminded to think that we need cereals filled with sugar to help us lose weight and feel healthy.

I usually roll my eyes at the Special K cereal boxes whenever I walk by them in my supermarket aisle and feel superior that I don’t fall for this bullcrap. But I fell for them in the past. Fell into the trap of their marketing message: “What Will You Gain When You Lose?”

So, “What Will You Gain When You Lose?” Let me answer that: You’ll gain a eating disorder for the two weeks of the The Special K Challenge. Just my 2 cents. If you’re currently doing the challenge, fine. I’m not trying to attack you, or call you names, I just don’t like the company’s mindset behind the The Special K Challenge. /rant

And I just came across a post–and the blogger allowed to share her post and asks us to join her in a boycott of Special K products–that prompted my rant. Please follow the link. It’s an incredible worthwhile read for anyone who has ever done the challenge, is thinking about doing the challenge, or wants a concise write-up why the Special K Challenge should get lost.

Special K Challenge: Get lost What is the challenge, exactly? The Special K Challenge is a two-week program that takes the nutrient-poor, calorie-restrictive meal plan that the cereal brand has been guilting women into for years and dresses it up with pretty colors and interactive web-based tools designed to appeal to the female eye (because obviously every woman loves pretty colors and clean designs!). On the website, you can choose the start date of your challenge, and customize your plan by choosing from four different menu types: Classic, Mix it Up (for foodies!), On-the-Go, and Chocolate Lover’s (don’t deny it ladies, you can’t live without chocolate, especially during that time of the month, amirite?!). From there, you can mix and match Special K foods to create your own customized 14-day plan. Read More

Well, Special K Challenge, consider yourself boycotted.

8 Responses to “Special K Challenge: Get lost (via I came to run)”

  1. portlandsfunnygirl 01/10/2011 at 2:17 pm #

    I always thought stuff like that and programs like Slim Fast were BULLSHIT! >.< I mean you know whenever you set yourself up to eat only a certain type of food, even if others are slightly mixed in, you are setting yourself up for failure. And your right, ad compains use girly things like pink and chocolate to increase their sales. It makes me sick that there can't be an honest ad compain and only care to increase sales.

    • Chickie 01/10/2011 at 4:39 pm #

      It’s a big corporation, so money will always be the bottom line. Maybe I’ll buy their stuff again once they go non-profit. 🙂 So, never, lol.

  2. portlandsfunnygirl 01/11/2011 at 1:57 pm #

    You know what though? Marketing girly type things IS a great idea in itself. I went gaga over this woman’s wallet because it was pink and sparkly and now they make pink lepord hair dryers that are absolutely adorable. I just wish people aka big coropratations would care more about American public health instead of the all mighty dollar. (That’s worth shit anyway) But that would be expecting too much right? ^_^ lol

    • Chickie 01/11/2011 at 8:01 pm #

      Oh, I love girly stuff just fine. I’m ‘this’ close to buying my cat a pink, bedazzled collar–but she’d hate me if I did 🙂

  3. emlit81 01/13/2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Hi Chickie! I just wanted to thank you for reposting my post on the Special K Challenge. I’m really grateful to everyone who has helped spread the word. Following on the heels of the challenge (and as a way to counter its potential negative effects) I’ve started a small project called Embrace:Me, which is designed to promote body confidence. I’d love it if you’d check it out and help drum up some support in whatever way you can. Here’s the link to my post about it: http://icametorun.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/embrace-me/

    • Chickie 01/13/2011 at 5:27 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! Loved your Special K post. I’ll definitely check out your new project, sounds great.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Calories Blog » Blog Archive » Top Ten Links of the Week: 1/7/11 – 1/13/11 - 01/14/2011

    […] Special K Challenge: Get mislaid (via we came to run) « VivaFAT […]

  2. “Embrace Me”, Body Confidence Project « VivaFAT - 01/14/2011

    […] is sort of an update to my post about the Special K Challenge and the blogger who wrote a concise and enlightening post why the cereal Challenge should get […]

Leave a Reply

